The 146th Open Annual: The Official Story (Annuals) The R&A

The 146th Open Annual: The Official Story (Annuals)

Book Description:
Title: The 146th Open Annual: The Official Story (Annuals)
Author: The R&A.
MD5 Hash Code: e2d0fccb360d5564a2e922ad2e5e0fe2
* You need to enable Javascript in order to proceed through the registration flow.

The R&A The 146th Open Annual: The Official Story (Annuals)

The 146th Open Annual chronicles the quest of the world's greatest players as they compete to become the Champion Golfer of the Year. Golf’s oldest and most international Major Championship sees players from around the globe bidding to win the Claret Jug, the sport’s most coveted trophy. Henrik Stenson became the first Swedish player to have that honour in 2016 at Royal Troon after a thrilling head-to-head battle with Phil Mickelson, the Champion Golfer of the Year in 2013.Playing alongside each other over a weekend of intense drama, the pair separated themselves from the rest of the field and produced scintillating golf to match the “Duel in the Sun” between Tom Watson and Jack Nicklaus at Turnberry in 1977. By equalling the Major low of 63 in the final round Stenson set a new record of 20 under par for The Open to win by three strokes.Stenson and Mickelson will return for The 146th Open at Royal Birkdale on July 20-23 along with all the leading players in the game, including Olympic gold medallist Justin Rose, four-time Major winner Rory McIlroy and new world No.1 Dustin Johnson. A strong home challenge will also include Danny Willett, the 2016 Masters champion, Tyrrell Hatton, Paul Casey, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Russell Knox and Andrew “Beef” Johnston.Royal Birkdale has hosted The Open nine times previously with Padraig Harrington winning at the Southport venue in 2008. Other Birkdale champions include Peter Thomson (twice), Arnold Palmer, Lee Trevino and Tom Watson.